My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday StoriesMy True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It took me a long time before I finished this, even finishing a new book. It kind of disappointed me with how the stories were written, and I expected a lot from it, like Let it Snow by John Green, where the stories are somehow interconnected. My True Love Gave to Me instead, is a collection of Christmas stories, oblivious to each other. And that probably what disappointed me; that I expected it to be something it isn’t.

The first few stories are a bit of a bore. Though interesting at first, those ones started to make my interest falter. Hence the long time for me to finish. But Since I wanted to see the rest of the stories, I pick it up whenever I wanted to read. And since each story is separated with only a few pages in them, it’s a good book for short reading.

Towards the middle to the end though, that’s when things started getting interesting. Literary. The stories are more engaging, better plots and characters, and better story telling.

I’m 50-50 about recommending My True Love Gave to Me, since half of it is good, while the other, not so. If you’re a fan of Christmas stories, have this one a read and see for yourself.

View all my reviews

